Stop looking and start finding!

Have you ever heard someone say that as soon as you stop looking for something, that is right when you will find it, or it will find you? Well that is exactly what happened to me when it came to work. I have been without formal employment for more than 3 years now and as I said in a prior post with the grace of God and the help of my Mother’s pension to pay bills I was able to stop driving myself crazy sending out hundreds of resumes’ going on countless interviews just to be told that I’m over qualified or I don’t have the right degree or yada, yada, yada.

So I started doing what I do best… I talked… to everyone! I talked to anyone who I met at the store, who came to the house, while I was standing in line at the post office, you name it and I talked to someone. I talk to people anyway as it is my nature to be friendly, and somewhere in the conversation in variably work always seems to come up. I just started letting people know that I am working from my house now doing any kind of work that I can for anyone who needs me, including document preparation for attorneys, bookkeeping, tax preparation, even marketing, and website designing. I also do dog sitting and errand running.

Well all that talking to people led to several periodic jobs, and many good friends and references, as well as a permanent part-time (home based YEA!) bookkeeping  job and one to build a website.  I also have been talking with another to be taking on their books too.

Being able to work from my home is so wonderful because I can work the hours that I want whether it is 8am or 8pm and I can still spend time with my Mom as well as work on the projects that I just love!

It seems that God keeps gracing me every day as long as get out of the way and allow Him to work in my life. Funny how it I have to keep reminding myself of that, I wonder if I will ever learn that lesson without having to be reminded?

How about you? Are there lessons in life in which you need to be reminded? Should you have a one on one with the Lord?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

