My Review of 52" Casa Vieja Ancestry™ White Hugger Ceiling Fan

Originally submitted at Lamps Plus

This chic Casa Vieja Ancestry hugger chic rubbed white ceiling fan has a handsome look and a stylish design. It features a rubbed white finish motor with white finish blades. Integrated frosted glass light kit. Rubbed white motor finish. White finish blades. 188 X 20 mm motor. Lifetime motor warran…

Gorgeous but difficult!

By JewelryChik from Austin, TX on 10/22/2013

 

5out of 5

Pros: Works in Both Directions, Attractive, Circulates Air Well, Quiet, Range of Speeds

Cons: Difficult to Install

Best Uses: Larger Rooms, Decorative, Alternative to AC, Air Circulation

Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer

This is a very beautiful fan, but was a complete pain to install. I am no novice when it comes to installing ceiling fans (this was my 7th one in this house). I am a 53yr old woman who is quite capable of following even complicated instructions, however, let me tell you if you have never installed a ceiling fan do not make this one your first diy project. That is not to say not to get this fan because it is beautiful; just if you do, hire it out because the instructions are useless! In fact they are less than useless. It was only because I have installed so many fans before that I was able to figure out how to get this one up at all. During the wiring process I found that the wire caps included with the fan were much too small and had to use some of my own from ones that I had on hand. If you don’t normally have some available I recommend that you pick up some red and yellow wire caps for this project. I normally test the unit to make sure everything is working properly before I get everything tightened up and the blades attached, but with this you can not do that because you must install the wall receptor before you can try anything out as it has a transmitter in it. No where in the “instructions” does it say anything about any of that, so don’t be worried if yours is not working yet, and you install like I do, just keep going. The other thing is the Motor cover is made of a plaster like material which is beautiful, however, when you are attaching it to the mounting ring, DO NOT OVER TIGHTEN THE SCREWS or you will make the “plaster” crumble and destroy the mounting holes. I hope some of this helps others who are trying to do it themselves.

(legalese)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Review of 52" Casa Vieja Ancestry™ White Hugger Ceiling Fan

  1. Your mom says:

    I watched you install this beauty and I could “feel” your patience slipping, but you continued on to the final successful assembly point — and it is the best looking ceiling fan I have ever seen. The unit is whisper quiet and the 3 speeds are great. So happy we have it in our home. Love, Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

